Carl Ludwig Hübsch has put together a new octet of improvising interpreters:"hübsch acht". (The word "acht" means eight but it also evokes the expression "acht geben" which stands for being alert, attentive.)

The french clarinet players Isabelle Duthoit and Joris Ruehl, the Berlin based drummer Christian Lillinger, Matthias Schubert (Berlin) on tenor saxophone and Wolter Wierbos (Amsterdam) on trombone join Philip Zoubek on piano, Joker Nies on electronics, and of course, Hübsch himself on tuba turn the compositions into sounding reality.

Hübsch's network compositions are designed for this group of active interpreters. They deliver knots and relationships in a flexible musical net which is reshaped anew in each performance. Resistance, surprise, immediate response and joy characterise the musicians communications. Thus they discover an undetected sound country, where the customs are unknown and thelaws are always changeable.

"hübsch acht" was formed for the SWR NEW Jazz Meeting 2012 and premiered
in Mannheim, Cologne, Freiburg and at the unerhört festival in Zurich in November 2012.


Carl Ludwig HÜBSCH - tuba, composition
Isabelle DUTHOIT - clarinet
Joris RÜHL - clarinet
Matthias SCHUBERT - saxophone
Wolter WIERBOS - trombone
Philip ZOUBEK - piano
Joker NIES - electronic
Christian LILLINGER - drums

SWR NEW Jazz Meeting 2012: hübsch acht